top of page

Victoria Day Award recipients July.


The Knox Community Victoria Day Award, helps define, encourage and reinforce local aspirations, ideas and standards by identifying role models.

This is an event that was initiated in 2008 by Nick Wakeling MP State Member for Ferntree Gully.  It was expanded in 2016/17  to be jointly conducted with Kim Wells MP, State Member for Rowville.  In 2023, this event continued, under the guidance of Nick McGowan MP and Kim Wells MP.

Since its inception, the Event has been generously sponsored by the Knox Community Banking Group (Bendigo Bank).

The ceremony is held on 1st July each year, and is typically reported in the following month's "Ingrained" Newsletter, as well as numerous local newpapers in the area.

The awards ceremony is an opportunity to recognise, celebrate and say thankyou to those who make a significant difference to  our community, those who achieve their best and assist others.


The award includes an Award Citation, along with a Victoria Day Award medallion.


Individual community groups can nominate one member from within their organisation.

Nominations are typically handled by a collaboration between the previous award recipient, and the Club President.


Member Awarded:

2008:   Paddy McCann
2009:   Peter Sleeman
2010:   Peter Horsburgh
2011:   Charles Bruckner
2012:   Bruce Powell
2013:   Dick Webb
2014:   Colin Stewart
2015:   John Jackson

2016:   Eric Butterfield

2017:   Karen Button

2018:   Hughie Gaynor

2019:   Andre Cook

2020:  (COVID19 - no nomination)

2021:   Gary Pope

2022:   Rodney Williams

2023:   Lindsay Horsley


2019: Kim Wells, Andre Cook, Nick Wakeling


2023: Kim Wells MP (Scoresby), Lindsay Horsley (2023 recipient), Nick McGowan MP (Ringwood)

bottom of page